Why I Started my Tech Journey.

Why I Started my Tech Journey.

The tech industry is one of the most promising industry to be a part of, and I'll be sharing my reason for joining and how my plans for growth during this journey.

Background

I have always had love for gadgets and electronics while growing up, at age 7 my parents got a computer for the family and I was always positioned at the computer screen. I'd play around with MS word, MS presentation and MS publisher and make some graphics and presentations which by the way were awful at the time😂.
Then when I got to secondary school I really loved computer science and performed really well in the subject and decided to pursue computer engineering for my university education. Trust the Nigerian education system to make me utterly uninspired and stressed, up to the point where I almost regretted the degree and the turning point for me came during my 400 level internship and while designing my final year project.

During my Internship, I worked at an Internet Service Provider (ISP) firm and I was able to put into practice, all the theoretical concepts learnt at school. That was really exciting and it made me feel excited about tech again.
I also fell in love with coding when I started building my final year project, It was a facial recognition security system using the raspberry pi and python 🐍 and I think what made me excited was the fact that I created something all by myself and I also taught myself python with no prior coding experience and I found it really interesting. This prompted me to get more interested in coding and just tech in general.

Why I started my Tech Journey

I decided to start my tech journey for the following reasons:
  • To build products: I think one of the major reasons for joining tech, was me wanting to create in general. I would love to build products for the general public that actually serve a purpose.
  • To learn more: One thing about the tech industry is that there are always new concepts coming up to help developers build better products and that's really amazing. I love to learn about current trends.
  • For money: It's no secret that the tech industry is a very lucrative industry and who doesn't like money. I feel it's a good compensation for all the hard-work involved in building products
  • To help others: I'd love to help other people trying to break into the tech industry, who were just as confused as me and didn't know where to start from. The tech community is immensely supportive and I'd love to give back to others

My plans moving forward.

Since, I don't know much programming, I started learning html, CSS and JavaScript for web development. I also plan on strengthening my knowledge in python and image processing. For learning resources, I'm using freecodecamp to learn and also I download coding textbooks for free from b-ok. I also watch youtube videos and listen to the ladybug podcast and the codenewbies podcasts. Best of all I joined the SheCodeAfrica slack channel and tasks are given there to help ladies strengthen their skills and learn as well. I hope for consistency and success for myself on this journey.